Karakoram Express Train Schedule & Daily timings

karakoram-expressKarakoram Express train is named after Karakoram mountain range. The train runs between Karachi and Lahore. Karakoram express is among the most famous trains in Pakistan. It was launched on Independence Day in 2002 and its cabins were imported from China in white and blue livery by Federal Railway Minister Lt-Gen Javed Ashraf Qazi. The train has 9 economy coaches, 4 AC or Business class coaches, 1 dining, 1 power and 1 luggage coach. The train travels daily from Karachi to Lahore covering a distance of 1,241 kilometers in approximately 17 hours and 40 minutes.

Karakoram Express got support and appreciation from both public and government and it was fruitful in revival of railway. It was the symbol of comfortable and swift travelling. It also gained the title of “Fastest train in Pakistan”. Karakoram express was also known as Night Coach in 2002 and still known till now. Before 2003 the train used to travel on alternative days but after 2003 when more coaches arrived from China they began their operations daily.


The train runs between Karachi Cantt to Lahore Junction daily through Faisalabad. It runs continuously and reaches on time. The train departs daily at 16:00 going through Hyderabad junction at 18:00, Rohri junction at 22:15  and stays there till 22:40 , Khanewal Junction at 04:35  and stays till 04:55 , Faisalabad at 07:30 and reaches Lahore Junction at 09:45 . The train departs daily from Lahore at 16:00 reaches Faisalabad at 17:55, Khanewal Junction at 20:55 , Rohri Junction at 03:00, Hyderabad Junction at 07:35, Landhi Junction 09:23, Drigh road at 09:48 and reaches Karachi Cantt at 10:15.


Comments (10)

  1. Donia Shah August 24, 2016
  2. Mrs.kaleem August 25, 2016
    • ABDUL QADIR AZIZ raipuri September 23, 2016
  3. Zainab November 3, 2016
  4. noor November 5, 2016
  5. salik December 13, 2016
  6. waqar javed December 13, 2016
  7. Muhammad Ramzan December 30, 2016
  8. malik ashar March 26, 2017
  9. Ahmad Shehzad April 30, 2017

Leave a Reply